LaSalle News Tribune | LaSalle, IL
Due to weather related issues, in some areas there may be delayed deliveries of your Monday issue of the NewsTribune.
If road conditions are severe enough, your delivery person may not be able to deliver your NewsTribune at all on Monday.
In this case, your Monday edition will be delivered with your Tuesday newspaper.
We ask you to be understanding for the safety of our carriers.

You can view Tuesday's newspaper online at

home : sports : sports   May 24, 2016

10/26/2012 11:44:00 PM
Thirty-nine area players recognized by BRC

NT Sports Staff

The Big Rivers Conference recently released it’s all-conference football teams and 39 area players were honored.

Leading the way for St. Bede (7-2) were senior Bobby Morrow and junior Michael Bellino. Morrow was voted to the first team as a running back and defensive back, while Bellino was selected first team at offensive end and linebacker.

Other multiple-position honorees for the Bruins were Brandon Pietrowski (first-team guard, second-team linebacker) and Austin Schwab (first-team defensive line, honorable mention running back).

St. Bede’s first-team picks were quarterback Taggart Venegas, offensive tackle Joey Pyszka and wide receiver Brad Groleau. Center Michael Slingsby was voted second team, while offensive tackle Brendan Zimmerman, receiver Damin Smith, defensive lineman Justin Shaw and defensive back Sam Halm were named honorable mention.

A-L’s Tyson Powers was voted first-team at quarterback and defensive back to lead the Clippers (7-2).

Other Clippers to be honored two ways were Bailey Appleman (first-team  defensive line, second-team running back), Drew Fordham (first-team defensive line, second-team offensive tackle), Tanner Behrends (first-team guard, second-team defensive line) and Garrett Liebing (honorable mention center and defensive line).

Linebacker Taylor Ikens was a first-team selection, while running back Cooper Nelson, running back Spencer Johnson and defensive lineman Andrew Klein were voted to the second team.

Honorable mention picks for A-L were defensive lineman Jordan Ernst, linebacker Jackson Sorrells and defensive back Austin Cover.

Bureau Valley had four players honored at multiple positions — Jordan Monier (first-team receiver, second-team defensive back), Josh Lewis (second-team defensive line, honorable mention offensive tackle), Kristian Konneck (honorable mention running back, linebacker) and Nick Catton (honorable mention offensive tackle, linebacker).

Running back Parker Neuhalfen and defensive back Brian Lange were second-team selections, while running back Tommy Johnston, receiver Jake Smith, center Cody Mattingly, defensive lineman Justin Buchman, defensive lineman Josh Mead and defensive back Frank Gebeck were all named honorable mention.

Hall senior Landon Piccatto was the only area player to earn recognition at three positions. He was voted first-team running back and return specialist and second-team defensive back.

Defensive lineman Taylor Steele was a second-team pick, while guard Nathan Tonozzi earned honorable mention.

Newman’s Brian Bahrs and Erie-Prophetstown’s Zach Inskeep were named co-players of the year, while E-P’s Chuck Milen was voted coach of the year.

Login to your account:
Remember me
Login reminder
  If you'd like to comment on this article, please log in or click here to subscribe.


Subscription Login

Moose Lodge helps Princeton board look at positives
Updated: 5/24/2016 11:13:00 AM
La Salle council approves more outdoor dining downtown
Updated: 5/24/2016 11:12:00 AM
Peru considering an ordinance to make dog doo a don't
Girls Softball: Upset ends L-P's season
LaChance: Mark my words, state track and field is an unforgettable experience
That's all, yolks

Illinois Valley Events
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        

Photo GalleryVideo LibraryMagazinesDealsAbout UsAP Terms of UseAdvertise With UsExtra Content

Copyright 2016 NewsTribune, LaSalle, Illinois. All rights reserved.

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved