LaSalle News Tribune | LaSalle, IL
Due to weather related issues, in some areas there may be delayed deliveries of your Monday issue of the NewsTribune.
If road conditions are severe enough, your delivery person may not be able to deliver your NewsTribune at all on Monday.
In this case, your Monday edition will be delivered with your Tuesday newspaper.
We ask you to be understanding for the safety of our carriers.

You can view Tuesday's newspaper online at

home : news : north central illinois   April 29, 2016

11/26/2013 1:44:00 PM
County races develop for sheriff in Putnam, Bureau counties

Two Democrats try for sheriff job in Putnam County
By Shannon Crawley-Serpette
Putnam-Marshall Bureau Chief

In Putnam County, two races shaped up after the first day of filing petitions.
Incumbent sheriff Kevin Doyle and Granville police chief Kevin Moore, both Democrats, have filed for the position of sheriff.

Incumbent county clerk Dan Kuhn and county board member Chauntelle Biagi-Bruer have filed as Democrats for the position of county clerk.

Duane Calbow, current county board chairman and a Democrat, has filed for a seat on the county board.

NT Staff

By Kevin Caufield and Katlyn Rumbold
NewsTribune staff

Election filing for the 2014 midterm election has begun, with several incumbents in La Salle County filing petitions to run for office.

La Salle County has three elected offices on the ballot this year: clerk, sheriff and treasurer.

Current clerk JoAnn Carretto and sheriff Tom Templeton have filed to run again for their respective offices. Current treasurer Don Lamps has announced he would not seek re-election but no one has yet to file a petition for that office.

La Salle County Board will have 15 seats available which includes a two-year seat for District 26 in Streator. That seat was vacated recently by Ron Dittmer (D-Streator). The remaining county board seats will have four-year terms. As of this morning, the following filed petitions:

District 2 (Mendota): Stephen Carlson, Republican
District 3 (Leland): Dave Zielke, Republican; District 6 (Sheridan): Charles Borchsenius, Republican
District 14 (Utica): Joseph Panzica, Democrat; District 20 (S. Ottawa Twp.): Arratta Znaniecki, Republican; District 21 (Ottawa): Brian Dose, Democrat; District 27 (W. Streator): Walter Roach Jr., Republican

U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-Channahon) officially filed to run for re-election Monday in Illinois’ 16th Congressional District. He submitted 2,378 signatures, nearly 3 times the amount required to get on the ballot. Tea Party leader David Hale from Rockford plans to run against Kinzinger in the March 18 primary.

Bureau County
For sheriff: Republicans Allan Beaber of Princeton and William Rosenow of Sheffield; and Democrat James Reed of Arlington. One other Republican is expected to run in the March 18 primary.
For treasurer: Courtney Yates-Mabry, Princeton
For county board: Republicans — District 3, Jim Donarski, Princeton; District 7, Marshann Entwhistle, Princeton; and District 26, Connie Stetson, Neponset.

Login to your account:
Remember me
Login reminder
  If you'd like to comment on this article, please log in or click here to subscribe.


Subscription Login

Ottawa man arrested for allegedly setting co-worker on fire
Updated: 4/29/2016 5:40:00 PM
Horman gets 40 years in Ottawa murder-cremation case
Updated: 4/29/2016 3:34:00 PM
Headliner named for Ottawa 2 Rivers Fest
First 'revenge porn' case filed in La Salle County Circuit Court
Two new ambulances give Peru versatility
Laser-pointer trial set for Monday

Illinois Valley Events
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

Photo GalleryVideo LibraryMagazinesDealsAbout UsAP Terms of UseAdvertise With UsExtra Content

Copyright 2016 NewsTribune, LaSalle, Illinois. All rights reserved.

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved