LaSalle News Tribune | LaSalle, IL
Due to weather related issues, in some areas there may be delayed deliveries of your Monday issue of the NewsTribune.
If road conditions are severe enough, your delivery person may not be able to deliver your NewsTribune at all on Monday.
In this case, your Monday edition will be delivered with your Tuesday newspaper.
We ask you to be understanding for the safety of our carriers.

You can view Tuesday's newspaper online at

home : news : local   May 25, 2016

12/13/2012 11:11:00 PM
Failed electric referendum back on the ballot

La Salle County Board members Thursday voted unanimously to place on the April 9 ballot the electric aggregation question that failed in November.

“It’s the same ordinance,” explained development committee chairman Stephen Abel (D-Mendota). “We thought there might have been some confusion with Rock Island Clean Line that might have contributed to why it lost. This will give us a chance to get more information out.”

Electric aggregation, if passed, would authorize the county board to facilitate the hiring of a private electric aggregator who would negotiate on behalf of most rural residents for cheaper electric rates on the open market. The only residents excluded would be those that currently have their electricity provided byCorn Belt. However, those voters may still vote on the issue despite it not affecting them.

Abel and other county board members say they had constituents inform them they wouldn’t vote for electric aggregation believing it would somehow allow the clean line project to be built.

The two issues are completely separate. Rock Island Clean Line producers are applying for public utility status so that their company can gain the power of eminent domain and construct a high-voltage power line through northern La Salle County. Whether they are successful depends on the Illinois Commerce Commission, not the county board or voters.

In other business:

Þ Board members unanimously named board member Lou Anne Carretto (D-Ottawa) to the La Salle County Health Department Board.

Þ Board members approved the following appointments: Ken Krogulski, Tri-County Council; Diane Anderson, Cythia Farmer and Sue Johnson, Mount Hope Cemetery Association, three-year term; Donna Cade, JoAnn Hustis and Russell Tendall, Mount Hope Cemetery Association, 6-year term; David Swenson, Drainage District 1 Adams-Earl; Roger Torman, Drainage District 1 Freedom & Earl; Kent Butterfield, Drainage District 1 Freedom, Wallace and Dayton; Roger Lane, Drainage District 1 Ophir; Richard Riva, Drainage District 1 Ophir and Meriden; William Coultrip, Leeson Cord and Brian Miller, Drainage District 1 Victor-Adams; Drainage District 1 Wallace and Dayton; Pete Snook; Drainage District 1 Freedom and Earl, Michael Kelly, replaces Leo Kelly; and Drainage District 7 Wallace, Jason Friestad, replaces William Bragg.

 Kevin Caufield can be reached at (815) 220-6932 or

Login to your account:
Remember me
Login reminder
  If you'd like to comment on this article, please log in or click here to subscribe.


Subscription Login

Underseller resale shop near St. Mary's, Peru closing soon
Updated: 5/24/2016 9:35:00 PM
L-P considers changing academic rankings
Updated: 5/24/2016 8:57:00 PM
List of Memorial Day services
There's bones in those hills (VIDEO)
Moose Lodge helps Princeton board look at positives
La Salle council approves more outdoor dining downtown

Illinois Valley Events
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        

Photo GalleryVideo LibraryMagazinesDealsAbout UsAP Terms of UseAdvertise With UsExtra Content

Copyright 2016 NewsTribune, LaSalle, Illinois. All rights reserved.

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved